Children of Blood and Bone

By Toni Adeyemi

Published: 2018

AR level: 4.8

AR points: 20.0

I suggest: 7th through 12th grade9781250295446_p0_v6_s550x406

I’d had this on my “to read” list for a while. I love epic fantasy novels, and this one is refreshingly new and exciting with its West African influence. The landscapes and magic are a new brand from the same-old, same-old, but what really got me?

The characters are magnificent. I just love the individuality and purpose in them that I discover as I read.

This is not a book for the faint-hearted. It is a book that is mature and thoughtful, and perfect for high schoolers looking for some their next favorite.

Description from B&N:

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.

They took our magic.

They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for an enemy.

Official book trailer:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s